The Alston S. Householder Prize is awarded to the the author of the best dissertation in numerical linear algebra and is awarded at the symposium for dissertations submitted over the previous three years.

Prize details

The term numerical linear algebra is intended to describe those parts of mathematical research that have both linear algebraic aspects and numerical content or implications. Thus, for example, a dissertation concerned with the numerical solution of differential equations or the numerical solution of an optimization problem would be eligible if linear algebra is central to the research contribution.

To qualify, the dissertation must have been examined and deemed to have passed during the period of the prize. However, the PhD degree or equivalent need not have been officially awarded during this period.

Candidates from countries in which a formal dissertation is not normally written at that level may submit an equivalent piece of work. The Householder Prize, given every three years, was established at the 1969 Gatlinburg Symposium (now renamed the Householder Symposium) to recognize the outstanding contributions of Alston S. Householder, 1904-1993, to numerical analysis and linear algebra.

Entries will be assessed by an international committee consisting of:

Previous Householder Prize winners

Year Winner(s) Institution
2022 Heather Wilber Cornell University
2020 Estelle Massart UC Louvain
Stefano Massei Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa
2017 Marcel Schweitzer Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Edgar Solomonik University of California, Berkeley
2014 Nicolas Gillis UC Louvain
Yuji Nakatsukasa UC Davis
2011 Bart Vandereycken KU Leuven
Paul Willems Bergische Universitat Wuppertal
2008 David S. Bindel University of California, Berkeley
2005 Jasper van den Eshof Utrecht University
2002 Jing-Rebecca Li Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1999 Jorg Liesen Bielefeld
1996 Ming Gu Yale University
1993 Hong-Guo Xu Fudan University
Barry Smith New York University
1990 Alan Edelman Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Maria Beth Ong University of Washington
1987 Nicholas J. Higham University of Manchester
1984 Ralph Byers Cornell University
James W. Demmel University of California, Berkeley
1981 E. Marques de Sa' Coimbra
Paul Van Dooren K. U. Leuven
1977 Daniel D. Warner University of California, San Diego